When Tulsa County District Attorney Steve Kunzweiler was asked what would happen when Oklahoma’s constitutional carry law took effect on November 1, he said, “Nothing.”
In a radio interview on Tulsa Beacon Weekend on KCFO AM970, Kunzweiler said basically that criminals will still commit crimes and law-abiding citizens will exercise their constitutional rights.
The new law, the 2018 Oklahoma Self-Defense Act, means you can carry a firearm without a license. You can still get a license but state law no longer requires that someone over age 21 (age 18 for veterans or active military) need to pay $100 for a five-year gun permit ($200 for 10 years). The cost of a required training certificate and an awareness of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act can now be avoided. Not requiring a license also means legal citizens can carry without proof of residency, fingerprinting and a background check. (You still need an FBI background check to purchase a firearm from a licensed gun dealer.)
Oklahomans may still use a local license to carry a firearm in certain states, depending on their laws. It’s approved in Kansas, Arkansas and Missouri but not in Colorado, New Mexico or Texas.
There are some restrictions under state law as to where someone can carry a weapon. That includes liquor stores, bars, government buildings, some sports arenas, public schools, colleges, universities (some exceptions for private colleges), casinos and a few other categories set up law enforcement.
If stopped by a police officer, lawful citizens don’t have to say they are carrying a firearm. Police would prefer that motorists who are stopped say they are exercising their right to carry a gun and tell them where the gun is. And, the police want drivers to keep they hands on the steering wheel.
If you decide to carry a visible handgun on your hip, it must be in a holster. If you threaten someone with a gun, even if you don’t draw the gun or fire it, you could suffer legal consequences. The right to bear arms is embedded in the 2nd Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. The National Rifle Association recommends that anyone who owns a firearm should take training in its use and learn commonly held safety rules.